Software for Four In-House Translators
Thread poster: Jocasta
Jocasta
Jocasta
Local time: 02:37
German to English
Sep 21, 2011

Stepping into the world of CAT has been a bit of a shock. I have been a traditional-style translator for 5 years, but have recently started working in an academic research facility part-time, along with 3 other part-time translators, one of whom works remotely.

'The Man' has asked for information on software to ensure/ assist in consistency - many of the terms we use are very specific, and often 'self-made' translations for academic concepts/ elements that do not exist in English. <
... See more
Stepping into the world of CAT has been a bit of a shock. I have been a traditional-style translator for 5 years, but have recently started working in an academic research facility part-time, along with 3 other part-time translators, one of whom works remotely.

'The Man' has asked for information on software to ensure/ assist in consistency - many of the terms we use are very specific, and often 'self-made' translations for academic concepts/ elements that do not exist in English.

We are not challenged by formats (straight Word Document to Word Document), nor do we have very much repetition at all - which makes me think we need more an automated glossary.

Is this worth buying a software package? Or are there other alternatives?
I am rubbing my temples in bewilderment at the moment - any advice is appreciated!
Collapse

Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT
Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Definitely! Sep 21, 2011

Of course it is worth it!