Relearning a lost language
Thread poster: Ivars Barzdevics
Ivars Barzdevics
Ivars Barzdevics  Identity Verified
Local time: 18:23
English to Spanish
Sep 15, 2009

Hello all,

I was wondering if anyone out there has been in a similar situation and could answer my question.
I speak both English and Spanish fluently (American dad, Spanish mom). Although my first language used to be English, I lived in the States for about nine years during my childhood, I now feel more comfortable speaking Spanish (I have lived in Spain for over 30 years now), and I also know a little French which I studied at the university. But my question is regarding a
... See more
Hello all,

I was wondering if anyone out there has been in a similar situation and could answer my question.
I speak both English and Spanish fluently (American dad, Spanish mom). Although my first language used to be English, I lived in the States for about nine years during my childhood, I now feel more comfortable speaking Spanish (I have lived in Spain for over 30 years now), and I also know a little French which I studied at the university. But my question is regarding a language a have totally lost: German. When I was 3 and 4 years old I lived in Germany, and, according to my mother, I spoke German wonderfully (Yes, my mom tends to exaggerate a bit about my skills). However, I never spoke it again and now I don't know a single word.
So my question is: Would it be easier for me to learn German again?

Any help would be highly appreciated.
Collapse

Sara Senft
Sara Senft  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 12:23
Spanish to English
+ ...
It might be easier Sep 15, 2009

It's entirely possible that you will have an easier time learning German again. The fact that you picked it up when you were a child works in your favor because it happened when your brain was in prime shape to learn languages.

If you are serious about it, go for it!

Henry Hinds
Henry Hinds  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 10:23